HAPPINESS

Well today was long….carpet at my mom’s was installed today….from 10 am – 7pm…two guys…long day.   It looks good.  I saw Mary Nyeholt yesterday…we had a sleep over!  She was passing through so great to see her.  Linda Alspaugh is stopping by tomorrow.  So nice to see my Carlsbad friends in Los Altos.  Bill arrived last night – in classic form of course.  He arrived at 10 pm . I texted him to meet me on the departure side as its always less crowded and I don’t have to keep circling. Well I wait…no text.  He doesn’t answer his phone. 20 minutes later I  finally decide to circle around and take a run at the packed arrival side…AND THERE HE IS!   Moron!  Naturally his phone is dead.  AND the kicker is he didn’t bring a charger for his phone or computer! He is the worst child I have ever owned.

I recently read a really good article on Happiness and here is what I learned:

Good news and bad news: unfortunately, approximately 50 percent of your happiness, your “happiness set-point,” is determined by personality traits that are largely hereditary. Half of how happy you feel is basically outside your control.

So the good news or dare I say, bad news for some of us is that hereditary plays a role in 50 % of our happiness level!  Some people are just doomed is how I read this – but the good news is you can do some things to help yourself achieve more happiness, especially if you are in the genetic dismal mood category – I won’t name any names here!.

MAKE GOOD FRIENDS – well gosh this is a no brainer right?!  How many times have you said “thank god for my friends”.  Friends save you through the tough times not to mention the hysterical laughter at times, which is good for your health.  Make friends outside of work. Make friends at work. Make friends everywhere. Make real friends. There are studies that say people with deep friendships and relationships live longer too.

ACTIVELY EXPRESS THANKFULNESS – Let people know you are thankful of what they do for you.  Don’t be afraid to express your gratitude and let them know how you feel.  It makes the recipient and the giver of thanks feel good.

DO WHAT YOU EXCEL AT AS OFTEN AS YOU CAN – hiking,  painting, surfing, gardening just do it if it makes you happy.  My mom has a friend that paints gourds and now shopping bags.  They are horrible, but she gets great satisfaction doing this so I say…go for it as they do make awesome white elephant gifts!

GIVE – whenever you can.  This can be your time or just a hand up to someone.  It feels good to help someone else and makes you appreciate your life  and how fortunate you are.  I am volunteering at the local hospital when I get back to Cedar Rapids. Sometimes people just want someone who will listen and talk to them….Not everyone has the time but help someone whenever you can.

LIVE THE LIFE YOU WANT TO LIVE… Do what you want and live life true to yourself. Don’t worry about what anyone else thinks.  Do not live your life to someone else’s expectations.  Surround yourself with people who accept you for who you are—the real you.  Tell the truth as the truth really does set you free.  Leave life with no regrets.

I think our young prodigy would benefit from this.  Us old mom’s have learned or know most of this already.  I think it’s best that everyone have balance in their life of work and leisure.  Chasing the dollar is important to most young adults right now but will not ultimately make them happy…finding a balance and having a full life with great relationships will.

 

2 thoughts on “HAPPINESS

  1. Thanks for the visit Josh. I enjoyed the car tour of Stanford and trying to jolt loose memories of grad school. Your mom gave you a huge percent of your genetic Happiness.
    Nice to spend time with her too. Now that the carpet is in, how’s progress coming on the kitchen sink?

Leave a Reply

