Spring

Spring is so beautiful in Iowa, maybe I said this last April also.  Little flowers pop up everywhere, even on our lawn.   I went for a walk today and the reason why I picked this neighborhood is because it looks right out of a Norman Rockwell print.   No cookie cutter houses, every house must have been custom back in the 30’s and 40’s when built.  Ok Im guessing on the date, but most have front porches and 3 stories.  Anyway below are some photos of spring.   The 3 prong leaf plant will bloom and I think its called a Trillium….they are everywhere in the park and my front yard.  The daffodils and magnolia are from my yard.

Here are some unusual things in Iowa that California does not share:

1. Cemeteries –   Headstones and all – they are everywhere-  oh! maybe I should go photograph some and see how old they are!  I have another project!  There must be a minimum of  5 alone in Cedar Rapids that I have driven past.  They can even be on busy street corners.  They just build around them.

2. DQ  also known as Dairy Queen – there are 1o here.  DQ – Chill and Grill is their new logo!  They are everywhere and just as a point of reference I have only seen 2 McDonalds.

3. Toilet Seat Covers — THERE ARE NONE.  Maybe the state doesn’t believe in germs.  Even the hospital restrooms have no seat covers.  I think Illinois is the same way.  Whats that all about??

Lastly and sadly I have been trying to eat better and exercise more while I am here, alas all I have lost is my will to live!   But I will battle on as Im sure I have really built up muscle mass….just what I was hoping!  And speaking of diet, oh now I know why I haven’t lost anything!  Yesterday I stopped at a new Chipotle.  I was the only one in there , which was odd but worse than that fact was that they were out of Carnitas, and would be for a few months till they could find a more reliable vendor.  I clearly do a lot of chatting while I was in there.  Some would call it interrogation.   Fortunately they still had their fantastic chips.  I blame Amy for this addiction as I would never have ordered them if I hadn’t tasted hers.  They are gently laced with lime and are light and flaky…..SO GOOD!    Now I have to go eat something….GREAT :/

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

2 thoughts on “Spring

  1. READ THE CAPS IN YOUR LETTER. LOVE GETTING THEM. HOW ARE THE PRUCES ON HOMES DOING OUT THERE. READ THIS MORNING IN OUR WONDERFUL SAN DIEGO NEWSPAPER—YOU PROBABLY GET A BETTER ONE THAN WE DO—THAT TRULIA SAYS THAT 2015 PRICES ARE GOING UP AGAIN OVER 2014.

    THE LITTLE WHITE FLOWERS LOOK KIND OF LIKE SNOWDROPS. IS YOUR FRIEND STILL NEXT DOOR STILL THERE? SHE WAS A THERAPIST OR SOMETHING.

    NANCY

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Thanks for sharing and keeping me on the inner circle of post receivers….and read my current comment on your way long ago post from June 2014! Luv ya😊

Leave a Reply

